

CASA-ACÉA is a national organization with members representing each of the 12 accredited architecture programs across Canada. Although there are some general trends in acknowledging the traditional territories of Indigenous peoples, there is no single wording that applies to all territories. Therefore, CASA-ACÉA acknowledges the territories on which each of the accredited architectural schools reside.

University of British Columbia (Vancouver) We would like to begin by acknowledging that the land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Coast Salish Peoples, including the territories of the xwmə⊠kwəyəm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), Stó:lō and Səlílwəta?/Selilwitulh (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations. Source: https://blogs.ubc.ca/campusenvironments/land-acknowledgments/

University of Calgary (Calgary)

We recognize that the University of Calgary, located in the heart of Southern Alberta, both acknowledges and pays tribute to the traditional territories of the peoples of Treaty 7, which include the Blackfoot Confederacy (comprised of the Siksika, the Piikani, and the Kainai First Nations) as well as the Tsuut'ina First Nation, and the Stoney Nakoda (including Chiniki, Bearspaw, and Wesley First Nations). The university recognizes that the City of Calgary is also home to Region III of the Métis Nation of Alberta.

The University of Calgary is situated on land Northwest of where the Bow River meets the Elbow River, a site traditionally known as Moh'kins'tsis to the Blackfoot, Wîchîspa to the Stoney Nakoda, and Guts'ists'i to the Tsuut'ina. On this land and in this place we strive to learn together, walk together, and grow together "in a good way."

Source: https://sapl.ucalgary.ca/about/equity-diversity-inclusion-and-accessibility

University of Manitoba (Winnipeg)

The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation.

We respect the Treaties that were made on these territories, we acknowledge the harms and mistakes of the past, and we dedicate ourselves to move forward in partnership with Indigenous communities in a spirit of reconciliation and collaboration.

Source: https://news.umanitoba.ca/acknowledging-traditional-territories/

Laurentian University (Sudbury)

We would like to acknowledge the Robinson-Huron Treaty of 1850. We also further recognize that Laurentian University is located on the traditional lands of the Atikameksheng Anishnawbek and that **the** City of Greater Sudbury, also includes the traditional lands of the Wahnapitae First Nation. We extend our deepest respect to Indigenous peoples - as a sign of our continued relationship we will support Laurentian University's Truth and Reconciliation Task Force Recommendations. Miigwech.

Source: https://laurentian.ca/indigenous-programs/land-acknowledgment



University of Waterloo (Waterloo)

The University of Waterloo acknowledges that much of our work takes place on the traditional territory of the Neutral, Anishinaabeg and Haudenosaunee peoples. Our main campus is situated on the Haldimand Tract, the land granted to the Six Nations that includes six miles on each side of the Grand River. Our active work toward reconciliation takes place across our campuses through research, learning, teaching, and community building, and is co-ordinated within the Office of Indigenous Relations. Source: https://uwaterloo.ca/indigenous/engagement-knowledge-building/territorial-acknowledgement#:~:text=The%20University%20of%20 Waterloo%20acknowledges,side%20of%20the%20Grand%20River.

Toronto Metropolitan University (Toronto)

Toronto is in the 'Dish With One Spoon Territory'. The Dish With One Spoon is a treaty between the Anishinaabe, Mississaugas and Haudenosaunee that bound them to share the territory and protect the land. Subsequent Indigenous Nations and peoples, Europeans and all newcomers have been invited into this treaty in the spirit of peace, friendship and respect.

Source: https://www.torontomu.ca/aec/land-acknowledgment/

University of Toronto (Toronto)

We wish to acknowledge this land on which the University of Toronto operates. For thousands of years, it has been the traditional land of the Huron-Wendat, the Seneca, and the Mississaugas of the Credit. Today, this meeting place is still the home to many Indigenous peoples from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work on this land with Indigenous community members. Source: https://www.daniels.utoronto.ca/diversity-inclusion/equity-diversity-and-inclusion-daniels-faculty

Carleton University (Ottawa)

We/I would like to begin by acknowledging that the land on which we gather is the traditional and unceded territory of the Algonquin nation.

Source: https://carleton.ca/indigenous/policies-procedures/algonquin-territory-acknowledgment/

McGill University (Montréal)

McGill University is on land which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples, including the Haudenosaunee and Anishinabeg nations. We acknowledge and thank the diverse Indigenous peoples whose presence marks this territory on which peoples of the world now gather. Source: https://www.mcgill.ca/equity/initiatives-education/indigenous-initiatives/land-acknowledgement

Université de Montréal (Montréal)

The University of Montreal acknowledges the Indigenous nations that, prior and even after the establishment of the French, encountered one another on the territory of the Island of Montreal. It also honours the memory of the Great Peace of 1701, a treaty that fostered peaceful relationships between France, its Indigenous allies and the Haudenosaunee federation. The spirit of fraternity that inspired this famous treaty serves as a model for our own university community.

Source: Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT)



Université Laval (Québec)

In the spirit of friendship and solidarity, Université Laval recognizes the First Peoples of this land. Here, at the meeting place of the Nionwentsïo territory of the Huron-Wendat people, the Ndakina territory of the Wabanaki people, the Nitassinan territory of the Innu people and the Wolastokuk territory of the Wolastoqey people, we honour our shared relationships.

Source: Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT)

Dalhousie University (Halifax)

We [I] would like to begin by acknowledging that we are in Mi'kma'ki, the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq People. This territory is covered by the "Treaties of Peace and Friendship" which Mi'kmaq Wəlastəkwiyik (Maliseet), and Passamaquoddy Peoples first signed with the British Crown in 1726. The treaties did not deal with surrender of lands and resources but in fact recognized Mi'kmaq and Wəlastəkwiyik (Maliseet) title and established the rules for what was to be an ongoing relationship between nations.

Dalhousie University sits on the Traditional Territory of the Mi'kmaq. We are all Treaty people. source: Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT)

We acknowledge the historical oppression of lands, cultures and the original Peoples of this country and know we have a role to play in the path to decolonization that we share together.

We recognize our duty to fight for Indigenous rights to be restored and commit ourselves to the journey of healing. We thank the more than 630 First Nations, their people, and ancestors who have taken care of these lands that we share.